Green for Gifting and Grace


https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/green/

When I was a child, green was my favourite colour – and, along with purples and turquoise shades, it still is!

For me, it is associated with the landscape (which I love so much), the Northern Quarter (Earth), The Green Knight/Green Girdle – amongst many other mythological, nature-based and symbolic signposts of the psyche – and, as an additional delight, many of the most touching and lovely gifts I have received over the years have had green somewhere in the mix!

In the first photo, I show contrast: My hair, recently re-oranged, and a favourite green top, this taken before a truly delightful evening supporting a close friend at the local Open Mic.

WIN_20160401_19_12_12_Pro

 

The second reveals a lovely Pre-Raphaelite painting which a dear friend gave me for Christmas in 1994:

IMG03785-20160409-1353

 

Thirdly, a wonderful Thermocafe which another best friend gave me for Christmas 2014 – and which is in my absolute favourite shade of green.

IMG03784-20160409-1353

 

Fourthly, the Tarot Deck I have been using since 1993.

IMG03786-20160409-1354

And, finally, the big green container shown below originally contained delectable cup cakes – and was a gift from my lovely and supportive ex-pupil friend, Annette. She came along to my first-ever book signing session and presented me with this beautiful pot.

IMG03783-20160409-1353

 

Leave a Reply

