Can’t you take a joke? Human Fakes…


The kind of people who ask the question in the title are, more often than not, emotional fakes: Emotionally hollow themselves, they copy the feelings and gestures of others without genuinely understanding them, and are unable to distinguish between the situational and violent humour of cartoons and the real-life effect of such actions upon real flesh-and-blood human beings. Their inappropriate laughter reveals them as the fakes they truly are.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fake/

This piece explores the humourless world of the manically faking human ‘clown’ – and exposes the emptiness of his/her emotional vault.

‘Can’t you take a joke?’

Yes: But laughing at the late miscarriage of a colleague is not funny.

‘Can’t you take a joke?’

Yes: But giggling when you have deliberately driven away from a screaming, hysterical two year old is no cause for jollity.

‘Can’t you take a joke?’

Yes: But finding another’s fear hilarious does not convince me.

‘Can’t you take a joke?’

Yes: But watching while an animal eats something that makes it very sick and finding that a topic for humour does not endear.

‘Can’t you take a joke?’

Yes: But cruelty, neglect, punishment and spite do not, in my book, merit a laugh. Nor should they.

‘Can’t you take a joke?’

Yes: But nothing about you, your attitude or behaviour is genuinely mirth-inducing.

‘But I am only joking…’

Yes: I dare say you are. But the death of a friend, however strange, does not tickle my funny bone.

‘Oh, sorry that you can’t take a joke!’

When death, stillbirth, illness and angry taunting become side-splittingly funny, do let me know – and I will laugh uproariously.

Until then, feel free to exult in your belief that I am a desert of humourlessness.

‘You have no sense of humour!’

Possibly. But YOU are a fake. Behind your mask is NOTHING.

1297211213870_4157923

4 thoughts on “Can’t you take a joke? Human Fakes…

  1. This read like my personal mantra, Ali, I am often accused of lacking humour, for not finding these topics funny. I do however, am guilty, of showing my point to said jokers by joking about matters they care. It is rude and horrible, yes, but I have 0 tolerance and patience for joking about suicide, miscarriages, death, disease and similar in my presence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alienorajt

      Thanks for this, Oloriel. I have a raucous sense of humour myself, and laugh at loads of things – but I do get angry when people’s insensitivity to the suffering of others causes them to doubt my ability to take a joke. xxx

      Like

  2. Very powerful, and true. There are topics which are not appropriate for jokes.

    Interestingly, sometimes when I talk to my Mom, I will fabricate stories or puns that don’t harm anything if I am in a good situation, but if I am in a bad situation, I tell it straight-up.

    (for example, on the days that I was hit by a car, my call to Mom was precisely blunt: “I was hit by a car,” in a very serious voice to let her know that I wasn’t telling a story.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alienorajt

      Very good distinction there, Noah. We choose our humour depending upon the circumstances, and adapt our joking depending on who we are talking to. The sad thing is that those who ask the question I posed in my title are often devoid to true humour; they merely laugh at the misfortunes of others and cannot see why that is not always funny! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

