Mirror, Mirror, on the wall…


…who is the SCARIEST dame of all?

‘She was enormous of frame, terrifying of mien, and with a rough, shrill voice. A great mass of bright red hair fell down to her knees…She wore…a tunic of many colours, over which was a thick mantle held by a brooch. When she grasped a spear, it was to strike fear into all who observed her.’

When I read that, it was like looking in the mirror! If you allow for the fact that my hair does not fall to my knees (yet) and I am a trifle lacking on the spear front, the resemblance is uncanny!

Who is she?

Why, Boudicca, of course: A mere-wife after my own heart, that one! Good on her!

139dc9ff4061f12124175ba869c3b82c

Boudicca, pre-battle, getting some much-needed Mead down her neck before cutting a swathe through the enemy. Bit like teaching 11z last thing on a Friday during a Full Moon, really!

She pulverised posterior, did our Iceni Queen – and was exhibiting superior Girl Power well before our society came up with the term!

Wish I’d met her! I’d have shaken her by the hand – and, once I’d got the feeling back, saluted her. Daft besom, some may say (her, not me!), but I think she’s a great role model for all red-heads (and women generally).

Very simple: Don’t take crap, insults or prisoners – and, if threatened with the spectre of a Fate worse than Death, mix something terminal in with the Mead/Laphroaig and down it PDQ…

4 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror, on the wall…

  1. Yea yea but after chasing Romans the length and breadth of this ancient land, and riding her chariot way too fast she’ll still have to do the washing up and get the kids tea… (Although I might not say that aloud if she were close…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

