Alienora Taylor: YouTube Channel


https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/artificial/

I am not an artificial person. What you see on here is me. But sometimes, we have to adopt artifice as a means to an end.

This post, I will be honest, is not a true response to the word ‘artificial’; it is an artificial one! How’s that for wonderful, conscious irony!

I am not analysing the Artificial Art; I am using it in order to get my YouTube channel out there!

Artificial of me? Probably!

Cheeky? Oh, yes!

Determined? Without a shadow of a doubt!

Justified? That’s for my readers to decide!

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCP9ec2kokoY5pqmCbTtFzvA

In addition to writing hundreds of blog posts, several novels and the journal, I have, over the past three years, experimented with making videos of myself reading extracts from my own writing.

This has not been easy to do – and, as a result, my YouTube channel is both amateurish and sparse (eight or nine videos in total, quality very variable to say the least).

However, I do know that getting one’s words out in audio versions is important these days. I am aware that, for many, the visual media are more tempting than the written ones.

Making these videos was great fun! The actual reading – and, this being me, acting! – process was not at all scary: Thirty years teaching English and several lead roles in local Drama Club shows have, between them, banished my childhood stage fright and shyness pretty well. My technological ability is way behind, however. It needs fine-tuning – and one of my goals for the next phase is to get excellent audio versions of ALL my books.

A question often asked of writers is this one: How close are the speaking and writing voices to one another?

Listen to the clip below – or go onto my channel and choose one – and see what YOU think? Is there a clear divide between Ali, the writer, and Ali, the speaker? You decide!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q11HzGsSgfg

5 thoughts on “Alienora Taylor: YouTube Channel

  1. Julie

    Well, sorry if I upset you… I am not judging ‘posh’ as a bad accent myself, just an accent. However, It is true that sounding posh is not fashionable these days but most ( intelligent) people do NOT think that an accent is a reflection of someone’s values. People will judge you on your work above all. There is not a trace of poshness in it as far as I can see.
    Why is my comment ‘odd’? Haven’t you been told the same before?

    My favourite accent is the Welsh one. But that doesn’t mean it’s the best.

    Like

    1. Odd because ‘posh’, like, ‘common’ has pejorative freight stacked in its hold. I wonder if you would have commented quite so forthrightly had my accent been, for want of a better word, ‘common’… I suspect not because such a comment would have been expected to cause uproar. There is a world of prejudice hidden within the word ‘posh’ (and, indeed, ‘common’) – snobbery and reverse-snobbery come into it – which is singularly lacking in ‘Welsh’, for example. It is not a question of being told it before: I am fifty-eight and well aware that I speak with an upper middle class accent; it is a question of sensitivity to the nuances of language and of appropriate comments. I do not think my accent was in any sense relevant – unless, of course, it was affecting the clarity of my delivery!
      Do you see the point I am trying to make?

      Like

Leave a Reply

