Music that means something – Day One – ‘Captain Kidd’ and Ghost Weed.


As a child, next-sister-down and I came across ‘Captain Kidd’ on a record owned by Sibling’s best friend (who lived just down the road in Headington). We loved it!

In 2013, I joined a local band, GHOST WEED, with my friends Mark, Neil and Tom. I was their fiddler, though I also did some recorder playing and, on one infamous occasion, provided a haphazard piano accompaniment for ‘I Need a Dollar’ (Aloe Blacc).

Musicians came and went, as they do in all musical groups – and, by 2015, we were a quintet consisting of Mark (flute and lead vocals), Neil (guitar and vocals), Matt (drums), Michael (bass guitar) and me (fiddle and vocals for ‘AsΒ I went out oneΒ Morning’ and ‘Captain Kidd’).

Yes, we adopted ‘Captain Kidd’ right at the start – and, although it didn’t last the course, it was great fun for the few months we performed it, with Mark and myself alternating verses on the lyrics.

I left the band at the end of 2015 in order to deal with the ramifications of divorce and eventual move away. But, during my two years, I absolutely loved it and the band members remain close friends and musical companions; in fact, two of them were my recent co-Rusty-Shacklers!

The band has gone from strength to strength, with the flautist adding saxophone to his talents, the whole thing being tightened up considerably and great originals being added to the mix. I support them as an audience member whenever I can. I am hoping that, one day, I will be able to persuade the lads to come over to Glastonbury and do a set at an Open Mic or Blues Jam session!

Image 1: Fancy Dress at Neil’s birthday party.

Image 2: The band meeting Bill Kirchen.

Both images courtesy of Neil Phillips, Photographer.

My name is William Kidd, as I sailed, as I sailed
My name is William Kidd, as I sailed
My name is William Kidd, God’s laws I did forbid
And most wickedly I did, as I sailed, as I sailed

Oh, my parents taught me well, as I sailed, as I sailed
My parents taught me well, as I sailed
My parents taught me well to shun the gates of Hell
But against them I rebelled, as I sailed, as I sailed

Oh, I murdered William Moore, as I sailed, as I sailed
I murdered William Moore, as I sailed
I murdered William Moore and I left him in his gore
Many leagues from shore, as I sailed, as I sailed

Oh, I steered from sound to sound, as I sailed, as I sailed
Oh I steered from sound to sound, as I sailed
I steered from sound to sound, and many ships I found
And all of them I burned as I sailed, as I sailed

And being cruel still, as I sailed, as I sailed
And being cruel still, as I sailed
And being cruel still my gunner I did kill
And his precious blood did spill, as I sailed, as I sailed

I was sick and nigh to death, as I sailed, as I sailed
I was sick and nigh to death, as I sailed
I was sick and nigh to death and I vowed with every breath
To walk in wisdom’s ways when I sailed, when I sailed

My repentance lasted not, as I sailed, as I sailed
My repentance lasted not, as I sailed
My repentance lasted not, my vows I soon forgot
Damnation was my lot, as I sailed, as I sailed

To execution dock I must go, I must go
To execution dock I must go
To execution dock, while many thousands flock
But I must bear the shock and must die, and must die,

Take a warning now by me, for I must die, for I must die,
Take a warning now by me for I must die
Take a warning now by me and shun bad company,
Lest you come to hell with me, for I must die, I must die.

So, this song has nothing but happy associations for me. Enjoy the version sung by Great Big Sea!

The idea of this challenge is to do it for five days, with video link and lyrics provided; to write about feelings and associations (optional) and to invite others on board!

So, who else would like to post a song a day for five days?

Many thanks to Sue Vincent for allowing me to climb the rope ladder up onto the deck of HMS WP Challenge!

 

9 thoughts on “Music that means something – Day One – ‘Captain Kidd’ and Ghost Weed.

Leave a Reply

